Ayo ft. Youssoupha – Fire

Credits

Performed by Ayo & Youssoupha; MV released September 9 2013

This Sunday Quicky is all about social messages. Ayo, a Nigerian-German artist collaborated with Youssoupha, a French rapper, and created a wonderful, touching song Fire.

What struck me the most was how simple, yet catchy this song is. French rapping has been one of my favourites since a long time ago, and here Youssoupha brings out all the poetry and beauty of it. Ayo, too, comes across as a very talented songwriter. This duet was an unexpected, but a great addition to my playlist.

Speaking about the music video, I felt it took me back to the times when rapping was not about bling and sex. I know, I know, there have always been artists rapping about this, but now it seems that soulful rapping has been pushed aside. Anyway, the MV cuts through the surface of the city and digs deeper. Normally you don’t notice many things, brush by the beggars and the children and the street art. But in Fire, camera takes viewers to explore all of this, it shows all the rawness, pain, struggle. And if you’re observant enough, you’ll see that through all the smokes and flames smiles and love still shine through.

One more thing I just loved here – how Ayo is in the song, how she enjoys Youssoupha’s lines.

No copyright infringement intended. All credits go to respective creators and Motown France.

Leave a comment